Film Independent Spirit Awards


Nominees announced 11/21/2017
Winners announced 3/3/2018

Best Feature
Call Me By Your Name
The Florida Project
Get Out
Lady Bird
The Rider

Best Director
Sean Baker, The Florida Project
Jonas Carpignano, A Ciambra
Luca Guadagnino, Call Me by Your Name
Jordan Peele, Get Out
Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, Good Time
Chloé Zhao, The Rider

Best Screenplay
Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig
The Lovers,
Azazel Jacobs
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,
Martin McDonagh
Get Out,
Jordan Peele
Beatriz at Dinner,
Mike White

Best First Feature
Ingrid Goes West
Oh Lucy!
Patti Cake$

Best First Screenplay
Donald Cried
The Big Sick
Women Who Kill
Ingrid Goes West

Best Male Lead
Timothee Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats
James Franco, The Disaster Artist
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Robert Pattinson, Good Time

Best Female Lead
Salma Hayek, Beatriz at Dinner
Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
Shinobu Terajima, Oh, Lucy!
Regina Williams, Life and Nothing More

Best Supporting Male
Nnamdi Asomugha, Crown Heights
Armie Hammer, Call Me By Your Name
Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Benny Safdie, Good Time

Best Supporting Female
Holly Hunter, The Big Sick
Allison Janney, I, Tonya
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime
Taliah Lennice Webster, Good Time

Best Documentary
The Departure
Faces Places
Last Men in Aleppo

Best International Film
BPM (Beats Per Minute)
A Fantastic Woman
I Am Not a Witch
Lady Macbeth

Best Cinematography
The Killing of a Sacred Deer, Thimios Bakatakis
Elisha Christian
Beach Rats,
Hélène Louvart
Call Me By Your Name,
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom
The Rider,
Joshua James Richards

Best Editing
Good Time, Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie
Call Me By Your Name,
Walter Fasano
The Rider,
Alex O’Flinn
Get Out,
Gregory Plotkin 
I, Tonya,
Tatiana S. Riegel

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)
A Ghost Story
Life and Nothing More
Most Beautiful Island
The Transfiguration

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)